There is no such thing as a fair fight

 

Think of what the definition of a fair fight is. We’ll take boxing, just as an example. While you may not be a fan of boxing (I am certainly not a fan) you should still understand some of the basic principles. No hitting below the belt. No kicking. No biting (unless you’re Mike Tyson). You can’t use bricks as boxing gloves. Both fighters are in the same weight class, and division. And there is a referee to make sure that everyone plays by a set of rules that were established before the “fight.” How many of these things exist in a street fight? Is there a referee? Do both people fighting agree to fight by a certain set of rules, shake hands and then start pounding on each other? It’s highly unlikely.

Most of the time a street fight starts with a sucker punch, and there are no limits. No holds are barred. Biting, kicking, clawing, scratching, punches below the belt, and so on. (It reminds me of a vicious fight between two girls I knew back in High School.) A real fight is brutal, and violent. Each fighter has no idea of the notion of being disqualified. The only object is to inflict enough damage and pain that the other person surrenders. Broken bones, bruised kidneys, gashes and cuts won’t stop the fight. In a real fight you can’t “Tap out.”


“I told you not to dis Nickelback!”

Think of some of the “fighter” video games, like Mortal Kombat, Street Fighter, Tekken and so on. The object there, was to apply enough simulated brutality and violence in as short an amount of time as possible, and hope that you applied more than your opponent, whether it was your little brother, your college roommate, or your best friend’s sister that you had an awkward crush on. The computer made you evenly matched. It wasn’t about your physical ability to apply violence and brutality, it was about your computerized avatar’s ability. That computer character was a mutant that had special powers, and you didn’t personally suffer the demoralizing beating that the animated sprite on your television screen had to suffer through. After a quick reset, that character is fine and ready to fight again with a full strength bar. You wouldn’t be.


“Are they really making us fight over beer?”

I’m not a violent person. For those that know me, I am actually rather timid. I get intimidated by attractive women, such as my wife. I’m your typical introverted male dork, I’ll readily admit it. And I don’t fight fair. If someone attacks me, or a member of my family, I will apply a level of violence that is so great that there is no question as to my commitment. Remember, in a real fight, there are no weight classes, no referees, and no rules. The only object is to survive the fight, and to apply a level of brutality and violence that is greater than my opponent can withstand. This isn’t something that I want to do, or that I ever look forward to. I don’t start fights with anybody. There isn’t a need, and if I can I try to avoid confrontation.

My own personal first rule of self-defense; AVOID. I try to stay away from certain places, for my own safety. I’m not Batman, so I don’t go cruising through bad neighborhoods at night looking for someone who I can put back on the right moral path. So far this has been effective. I have rarely been in a situation where I wasn’t comfortable in my immediate surroundings. That being said though, this may not work all of the time, and sometimes a little more diligence is required.

If I can’t avoid some bad situations, I will then try to evade them. Second rule; EVADE. While avoid means you don’t get into precarious situations in the first place, sometimes it can’t be prevented. That doesn’t mean you linger though. If you have to go to an area, or into a situation that is questionable, you get in and then back out as quickly as possible.

If these first two items don’t prevent a potential threat, then we move on to my own personal step three; DE-ESCALATE. This doesn’t mean talking out your differences. (Please see my previous post about irrational people.) This means that you express in no uncertain terms, your lack of desire to participate. A very firm “I can’t help you!” Is usually sufficient. I have had to use all three of these methods at some point in my life. Thankfully, it has always ended there.

There is always the slim chance though, for that potential threat to become an actual threat. Once we get to the point where it is an actual threat, then it is time to fight. Remember, I don’t fight fair. I fight to win. I fight to survive. The level of violence applied is not proportional. It’s not blow for blow, or “tit-for-tat.” It is the maximum level. It is instantly and immediately the “rabid puppies in a blender full of jet fuel” level of violence. It is the most efficient, and quickest way to attempt to ensure that I am not the loser of the fight.


Don’t make us hurt you dude, seriously.

Chances are, that my attacker doesn’t fight fair either. He doesn’t want a fair fight. He may not want to win, but he definitely wants me to lose. He wants me to lose my wallet or other items of value. He wants me to lose a loved one. The reason for the fight is irrelevant. The level of violence applied needs to immediately exceed his threshold for withstanding it. The easiest, fastest, and most efficient way to apply this level of violence is with a firearm. If the individual who is threatening me or my family is not going to fight fair, then I won’t either.

(Please keep in mind that I am not a professional. I am not an instructor, or a trainer, or a lawyer. Everything I do is carefully measured in my best attempt to remain within the boundaries of legality. Please learn what this means for you. Get some formal instruction on self-defense and/or concealed carry.)

 

This entry was posted in Concealed Carry, Every Day Carry, Pistol, Pistol, Politics, Self Defense and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

