I can’t carry that concealed due to my body shape.

I surf firearms forums on Reddit.com daily. A lot of my inspiration for these blog posts comes from there.  I’ve been seeing one type of comment a lot, and I want to dispel some myths about what type of handgun you can and can’t carry concealed based on your body type. The comment is “I’m too ______ to carry a full size/pocket/compact pistol.”

Below is a table that lists all of the pistols that you cannot carry based on your height, weight, or body type.

Body Type

Restricted Pistol

Tall  
Short  
Skinny  
Overweight  
Male  
Female  

There you have it. That is the list. That is a complete and all inclusive list of all of the self defense handguns that you cannot carry based on your body type, shape, whatever. 

I’m about 5’10” to 6’ tall depending on the weather. I weigh right around 200 pounds and I carry a Smith and Wesson M&P Pro (long slide pistol). I used to carry a compact before I knew better. Your body type has absolutely nothing to do with what type of pistol you carry.  If you want to carry a derringer, go for it. If you want to carry a Dirty Harry revolver, knock yourself out.  The limitation isn’t the pistol.  If you normally go around town wearing nothing but body paint, then yeah, you’re probably going to have a difficult time concealing a weapon. It’s really all a matter of how you dress. A perfect example of this is demonstrated in the video below about why schools should have dress codes.

Capture
Click the picture to see video.

Now granted most of the video is a little far fetched, and is meant to scare the crap out of you as a parent and “Oh my God! Guns are bad!” You aren’t going to realistically conceal a shotgun down your pants without looking like you have something jammed up your ass when you walk, but that kid “concealed” more than one handgun. It is possible to carry multiple firearms on your person, as long as you dress around it.  You might have to change up your wardrobe a little bit, but you can still dress pretty much the way you do now, and conceal anything from a .380 Seecamp to a .50AE Desert Eagle. 

The trick is getting the right holster. I have seen a woman who is extremely short carry a full size pistol concealed with no problems. I’ve seen a guy who wears skinny jeans pull a full size pistol out of the holster he was wearing. (Both of these instances were at the shooting range that I frequent.) Having the right holster really does make a difference. For the right holster, look for quality holsters that were tailored for your specific firearm. Comp-Tac, Cross-Breed, AlienGear, Old Faithful, and others make excellent holsters. Ladies, there are even holsters made specifically to accommodate your particular assets, such as the "FlashBang” holster.

It’s up to you, but don’t let phrases like “I’m too fat,” “I’m too skinny,” “I’m too tall,” “I’m too short,” or for the ladies “My boobs are too big,” or “My boobs are too small,” be the reason you don’t carry what you want, because it’s not true.  It really doesn’t matter if you’re a tower or a speed bump, if you’re a rail or a whale, if you have been gloriously endowed by genetics, or genetics short-changed you; you can carry whatever pistol you want, as long as you dress for it. If you need help or advice, go to your local gun shop or shooting range and the employees there will be glad to help you out and give you advice on how to carry and the equipment that you will need.

Unless you only wear Speedos in public; in which case I’m not sure I want you carrying a gun.

(Special thanks to Mr. Standard, an employee of Shiloh Shooting range for enlightening me on this topic.)

This entry was posted in Concealed Carry, Pistol, Self Defense. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

